Johann M. Sperger, Concerto in D for trumpet (corno da caccia) and orchestra or piano

SPERGER Johann M., Concerto in D

trumpet (corno da caccia) and orchestra or piano

Composer: Sperger, Johann M. (1750-1812)
Duration: 10'
Level: advanced
Genre: baroque
Series: Ludwig Güttler Collection
Arranger/Editor: Ludwig Güttler
Publisher Editions Bim
Ref. # CO3
PDF sample Download

Availability: In stock

Version Ref. # Price Qty
Piano reduction CO3a
Orchestra score CO3b
Orchestra parts CO3c


Johannes Matthias Sperger (1750-1812) was born in Feldsberg (today Valtice, Czech Rep.), and received his musical education as a composer and contrabass player in Vienna during the time of Mozart. After several years service in the orchestra of the Archbishop of Pressburg, he went on extended concert tours that made him famous as a contrabass virtuoso and composer, both at home and abroad. In 1789 the court of Archduke Friedrich Franz I in Ludwigslust appointed Sperger to the position of principal contrabass in the Mecklenburg- Schwerin Court orchestra, where he remained the rest of his life.

Today, if he is acknowledged at all, it is as a great contrabass virtuoso and composer for his instrument. It is not generally known that this (probable) pupil of J.G. Albrechtsberger also wrote chamber music for different instrumentations, cassations, divertimenti, symphonies, church music and many solo concertos with orchestra including some for brass instruments.

His «Concerto per il Corno primo » in D Major demands from the soloist a perfect high range and great virtuosity.

Please wait...


has been added to your cart

Continue shopping


View cart & checkout