Jean-François Michel, Eastwind for trumpet, trombone and piano or brass band or brass ensemble

MICHEL Jean-François, Eastwind

trumpet, trombone and piano or brass band or brass ensemble

Instrumentation detail: solo parts included in all versions
Composer: Michel, Jean-François (*1957)
Year of composition: 2012
Duration: 8'
Level: intermediate / advanced
Genre: contemporary
Series: Jean-François Michel Collection
Publisher Editions Bim
Ref. # ENS215

Availability: In stock

Version Ref. # Price Qty
Piano reduction ENS215a
Brass band score ENS215b
Brass band parts ENS215c
Brass ensemble score & parts ENS215d


To compose “Eastwind”, Jean-François Michel took his inspiration from the rich musical folklore of the gypsies who have developed many different styles all over the Balkan and the East-European countries where they have settled. These folk tunes navigate freely between major and minor modes, between wild dances and sorrowful cantinelas, irresistibly bewitching the sad or happy souls of the listener.

“Eastwind” was first performed July 2, 2012 for the opening of the 61st Festival of Ljubljana, in Slovenia, by the Brass Ensemble (4 trumpets and 4 trombones) of the Slokar Academy and the soloists, Franc Kosem, trumpet, and Branimir Slokar, trombone.


The two solo parts have been written for solo trumpet in C and trombone and later, for the comfort of the soloists, edited and slightly modified to accommodate the idiomatic particularities of the B-flat cornet (or trumpet) and euphonium.

The solo parts are available in the following versions to enable the players to perform the piece with three different accompaniments:

1) C-trumpet and trombone bass clef for the brass ensemble version with 4 trumpets and 4 trombones (ENS215d);

2) B flat cornet or trumpet and euphonium in treble or bass clefs and trombone in treble clef for the version with brass band (ENS215b/c)

3) All of the different solo parts are included and offered for the choice of the performers with the piano accompaniment version (ENS215a).

We also recommend...

KOETSIER Jan, Gran trio op. 112

KOETSIER Jan, Gran trio op. 112

trumpet, trombone and piano
KOETSIER Jan, Irisches Trio

KOETSIER Jan, Irisches Trio

trumpet, trombone and piano
LINDBERG Christian, Groundhog Mamba

LINDBERG Christian, Groundhog Mamba

trumpet, trombone and brass quintet
KOETSIER Jan, Konzert op. 17

KOETSIER Jan, Konzert op. 17

trumpet, trombone and orchestra or piano
PLOG Anthony, Concertino

PLOG Anthony, Concertino

trumpet, trombone and brass ensemble or piano

Starting at: CHF35.00


Please wait...


has been added to your cart

Continue shopping


View cart & checkout