Jean-François Michel, Trilogy for 2 trombones (or horn in F, trombone) and piano

MICHEL Jean-François, Trilogy

2 trombones (or horn in F, trombone) and piano

Composer: Michel, Jean-François (*1957)
Year of composition: 2014
Duration: 15'
Level: advanced
Genre: contemporary
Series: Jean-François Michel Collection
Publisher Editions Bim
Ref. # TB93

Download a sample

Availability: In stock



This three movement work, composed for two trombones and piano, is highlighted by dramatic and poetic intensity, punctuated by various sound combinations (including mutes) and amazing rhythmical effects. The piece is dedicated to the well known soloist Branimir Slokar and the talented Japanesetrombonist Mayumi Shimizu.

The first movement begins with a very slow piano prelude over which the trombones interject brief and tangled fanfares in a call and response type of setting. The piano gradually becomes a participant in these more and more nervous exchanges until the music merges into a light Allegro moderato, a kind of sonata, but without developments, where the main themes are shared equally by the three performers.

The second movement unfolds with a sustained intensity over a very slow tempo which offers considerable expressive freedom for each performer of the trio.

The main element of the last movement is the rhythm, animated by constant and sustained impulses. The piano opens the musical tournament, followed by the trombones. Additional lyrical transition segments offer short breaks, but after a sudden lento, the final rush accelerates into an explosive and spectacular ending.

We also recommend...

ALTMAN Laurie, Colors of the City

ALTMAN Laurie, Colors of the City

2 trombones (horn in F and trombone) and piano

Please wait...


has been added to your cart

Continue shopping


View cart & checkout