Mark Lanz Weiser, Flash for soprano saxophone and piano

WEISER Mark Lanz, Flash

soprano saxophone and piano

Composer: Weiser, Mark Lanz (*1968)
Year of composition: 2014
Duration: 15'
Level: advanced
Genre: contemporary
Publisher Editions Bim
Ref. # SAX17

Download a sample

Availability: In stock



Each of the four movements of Flash represents a different musical impression of the word flash,and the titles of each movement (Blink, Sparkle, Blaze, Shimmer) are themselves synonyms. The music exploits the entire range of the soprano saxophone and in the first three movements uses a dense musical vocabulary that is at different times jocular, taunting, whimsical, and aggressive. The last movement (Shimmer) acts as a contrast to the preceding three in a quiet setting of a lyric saxophone melody supported by high, staggered chords in the piano.


Flash was written for the brilliant saxophonist Christopher Creviston who premiered the work with his wife and collaborator Hannah Creviston at the piano on April 7, 2015 at the Arizona State University School of Music, Tempe AZ (USA).

Mark Lanz Weiser, May 2014, Los Angeles, CA

Please wait...


has been added to your cart

Continue shopping


View cart & checkout