, view bag


20% discount on all orders until August 31, 2024

Steptoe  Roger  New  York  Fanfares  Ens207

Roger Steptoe
New York Fanfares

Concerto grosso

for brass quintet

  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 10'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2011

Reference: ENS207
Score and parts


  • Instrumentation:

    2 trumpets in C, horn in F, trombone, tuba

  • Publisher: Editions Bim


Roger Steptoe

Roger Steptoe (*1953)

Roger Steptoe (born 1953) is acknowledged to be one of the most respected British musicians of his generation. A composer of international renown his impressive catalogue of works includes chamber ... Read more

About New York Fanfares

Fast, virtuosic and pithy work

Although the 'ripieno' and 'concertante' elements are played equally by each of the five instruments in turn, this fast, virtuosic and pithy work is essentially a mini-concerto for brass quintet.

Cast in three main sections with coda, the work takes as its starting point the notion of 'fanfares'. Fanfares in many forms and guises, loud, soft, rhythmically charged and lyrically quiet and discrete.

The middle, slower section is the most sustained in terms of atmosphere, with a rocking, accompanying motif passed around the five instruments against snippets of 'fanfare-like' material heard elsewhere. The work ends as it starts.