Simon  Antoine 22 Petits Morceaux D Ensemble Vol 1  Ens183
Antoine Simon
22 petits morceaux d’ensemble
Volume 1 - Brass Quartets
for brass quartet
Arrangeur: Edward H. Tarr
intermediate Duration: 20'

Printed version

ENS183 Score and parts


In stock

Antoine Simon (1850-1916)

The biographical information found in standard music dictionaries concerning the early years of this French composer-conductor, later active in Russia, is at best unproven. For example, Antoine Jules Simon is supposed to have been born on August 5, 1850 in Paris. He is also said to have received his musical training at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris from Antoine François...
Read more

About 22 petits morceaux d’ensemble

Between Jean Bellon, Ludwig Maurer and Victor Ewald.

Stylistically, Simon’s compositions for brass instruments can be situated between the twelve brass quintets by Jean Bellon, the Twelve Little Pieces by Ludwig Maurer and the first quintet by Victor Ewald. Simon’s melodic and harmonic writing are greatly indebted to Tchaikovsky, but he also retained certain French traits having to do with taste and refinement.

Product details

2 trumpets, horn, trombone
belle époque
Editions Bim
I. Marche (2'40)
II. Fughetta (2'30)
III. Petit rondo (2'20)
IV. Andante (1'30)
V. Fanfare (1'20)
VI. Marche indienne (1'20)
VII. Scherzetto (3')
VIII. Schottisch (6')