Albeniz Granada Ens158 Digital
Isaac Albéniz
from Suite Española op. 47
for brass quintet
Arrangeur: Maxi Santos
advanced Duration: 5'20 Spanish Brass Repertoire

Printed version

ENS158 Score and parts

CHF 26.00

In stock
Isaac Albéniz

Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909)

No biography available

Audio samples

About Granada

Artistic renaissance of the iberic regional music heritage

In the 19th century, Spain re-discovered its own rich, and various musical traditions. Isaac Albéniz, the Catalonian, gained his inspiration evidently from these folkloristic sources, and his Suite Española (originally for piano) is probably the first testimony of this artistic renaissance of the iberic regional music heritage. The eight pieces of this youth composition (Albéniz was 20 years old) are dedicated to cities, and regions, as well as to popular dances or other evocating situations. It was premiered by the composer himself on January 24, 1886.

It is likely that Granada was the starting point of the Suite. The guitar and the copla style are present in a popular Granadina folksong. The descriptive simplicity evokes the peacefulness of dusk, like a painting, and was inspired by a visit to the Andalusian city by the master. Its 164 bars in «allegretto» maintain an even 3/8 time.

Product details

piccolo trumpet, flugelhorn, horn in F, trombone, tuba
Editions Bim

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.