Albeniz Sevilla Ens157
Isaac Albéniz
from Suite Española op. 47
for brass quintet
Arrangeur: Maxi Santos
intermediate Duration: 5' Spanish Brass Repertoire

Printed version

ENS157 Score and parts


In stock
Isaac Albéniz

Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909)

No biography available

Audio samples

About Sevilla

Artistic renaissance of the iberic regional music heritage

In the 19th century, Spain re-discovered its own rich, and various musical traditions. Isaac Albéniz, the Catalonian, gained his inspiration evidently from these folkloristic sources, and his Suite Española (originally for piano) is probably the first testimony of this artistic renaissance of the iberic regional music heritage. The eight pieces of this youth composition (Albéniz was 20 years old) are dedicated to cities, and regions, as well as to popular dances or other evocating situations. It was premiered by the composer himself on January 24, 1886.

In Sevilla, this third part of the Suite, a festive atmosphere is reigning. The stylisation of a dance-like rhythm is its most prominent characteristic. The persistent cheerfulness allows some moments of subtle melancholy with a melody in jondo (profound) style, the essence of the thrilling world of flamenco. It is interesting to note the use of the repetition of a single note, which is one of Albéniz’s particular signatures.

Product details

trumpet 1 & 2 in C, horn in F, trombone, tuba
Editions Bim