Zbinden  Jf  Narbonne  Festival  Ens43
Julien-François Zbinden
Narbonne Festival op. 80
for brass quintet
advanced Duration: 16' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

ENS43 Score and parts

CHF 51.00

In stock
Julien-François Zbinden

Julien-François Zbinden (1917-2021)

Julien-François Zbinden was born on November 11th, 1917 in Rolle (Vaud/Switzerland). After having studied piano, with secondary studies in voice and violin, he began in 1938 his musical career as a pianist in a jazz band, having had a passion for jazz at an early age. As a composer, he was self-taught at the beginning, so to speak. After 1947 he worked at the musical department of Radio Suisse...
Read more

Audio samples

About Narbonne Festival

The work consists of five movements of which the first, Intrada, makes use of rhythmic play interspersed with a short expressive Andante. The second, Fantasia, consists of cadenzas for each instrument which finally unites in a brief and peaceful coda. This is followed by a quick and virtuostic Scherzo, after which comes an Aria which is both simple and romantic. The work climaxes with Mozartiana, a joyous Allegro, which, as the title indicates, was inspired by the famous Sonata facile for piano (KV 545) by the ingenious Salzburg composer. Fragments of the theme of the first movement play against each other in counterpoint.

Product details

2 trumpet, horn, trombone, tuba
Editions Bim

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.