Respighi Ottorino Suite From Antiche Danze Ens161

Ottorino Respighi


from “Antiche Danze ed Arie”

for brass quintet

Level: intermediate
Duration: 15'

Suite Suite

ENS161 - Score and parts

In stock
Ships from & sold by Editions Bim & The Brass Press

The Work

Over fourteen years, Respighi published three four-movement suites under the title Antiche Danze ed Arie per Liuto. The first (1917) was set for chamber orchestra, the second (1923) for large orchestra and the third (1931) for string orchestra. The individual movements of the suites are based on a collection of lute tables from the 16th and 17th centuries, which Oscar Chilesotti (1848-1916) had previously revised and published. In the subtitle, Respighi names his adaption «Libera trascrizione», pointing out that he handled the material with a certain poetic licence. But it is this which gives the Antiche Danze their particular charm; Respighi did not simply set early music for large orchestra, but rather he created a distinctive blend of renaissance and baroque music with late-romantic gestures.

2 trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba
Matthias Gromer
Editions Bim

Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936)