Zbinden  Jf 4X4  Mcx30
Julien-François Zbinden
4 x 4 op. 96
for flute, trumpet, contrabass and piano
intermediate Duration: 14'30 Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

MCX30 Score and parts

CHF 35.00

In stock
Julien-François Zbinden

Julien-François Zbinden (1917-2021)

Julien-François Zbinden was born on November 11th, 1917 in Rolle (Vaud/Switzerland). After having studied piano, with secondary studies in voice and violin, he began in 1938 his musical career as a pianist in a jazz band, having had a passion for jazz at an early age. As a composer, he was self-taught at the beginning, so to speak. After 1947 he worked at the musical department of Radio Suisse...
Read more

About 4 x 4

The first mouvement - Allegro commodo - starts vehemently, moving on to a lyrical sequence, intermitted by rhythmical elements. A contrabass cadenza and a quasi romantic passage lead back to the opening theme.

The second mouvement - Lento sostenuto - is inspired by the jazz blues. 

Mouvement three - Scherzando leggero - begins with a musically fragmented material, moves on with a rhythmic middle part back to the fragments of the beginning.

The last mouvement - Lento, Presto - opens with a quadruple cadenza with special focus on the contrabass. A fugato, in a progressive counterpoint of all four parts, leads the work to a ballsy finish.

Product details

flute, trumpet, contrabass (or bassoon) and piano
Editions Bim

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.