Zbinden  Jf  Alligun  Qc9
Julien-François Zbinden
Alligun op. 69
for string quartet
intermediate Duration: 5' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

QC9 Score and parts


In stock
Julien-François Zbinden

Julien-François Zbinden (1917-2021)

Julien-François Zbinden was born on November 11th, 1917 in Rolle (Vaud/Switzerland). After having studied piano, with secondary studies in voice and violin, he began in 1938 his musical career as a pianist in a jazz band, having had a passion for jazz at an early age. As a composer, he was self-taught at the beginning, so to speak. After 1947 he worked at the musical department of Radio Suisse...
Read more

Audio samples

About Alligun

This one movement work includes an Introduction, Allegro, Berceuse and Coda. The Introduction features crashing dissonant chords. The Allegro begins with a 4 voice fugato that leads to a more lyrical passage in which the chords of the introduction interact several times as the first part concludes, and evolves into the second part. The Berceuse is similar to the melody of a Romanian berceuse.

Product details

Editions Bim


  • January 30, 2018 | Lausanne, Switzerland. Quatuor Terpsycordes.