, view bag


20% discount on all orders until August 31, 2024

Zbinden  Jf  Quatuor No 2  Qc17

Julien-François Zbinden
Quatuor No. 2 op. 108

for string quartet

  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 29'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Series: Swiss Composers Series
  • Composed: 2011

Reference: QC17
Score and parts


  • Published: 2012
  • Publisher: Editions Bim
  • Movements:
    • I. Lento-Allegro (8'45)
    • II. Scherzando molto vivo (4'45)
    • III. Adagio (9'50)
    • IV. Allegrissimo (5'50)


Julien-François Zbinden

Julien-François Zbinden (1917-2021)

Julien-François Zbinden was born on November 11th, 1917 in Rolle (Vaud/Switzerland). After having studied piano, with secondary studies in voice and violin, he began in 1938 his musical career as a... Read more

About Quatuor No. 2

The 25 minute work consists of four very diverse and contrasting movements.

The first – Lento - Allegro - opens with a slow and mysterious introduction followed by a joyful rhythmic episode, while the second – Scherzando molto vivo – is simply virtuosic game-playing, with the four bows flying around freely. 

The third – Adagio – is very dramatic, slowly evolving into a mood of meditation and tenderness.

The last movement – Allegrissimo – is an homage to contrapuntal style and requires great virtuosity on the part of the performers.