Michel Jean Francois Eastwind ENS215e
Jean-François Michel
for trumpet, trombone and wind band
intermediate / advanced Duration: 8' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

ENS215e Wind band score

CHF 39.00

Printed version


CHF 105.00

In stock
Jean-François Michel

Jean-François Michel (*1957)

Jean-François Michel, born in Switzerland in 1957 into a family of musicians, studied from 1965 to 1976 at the Fribourg Conservatoire in (Switzerland). In 1975 he was awarded the Bronze Medal at the International Music Competition in Geneva and, a year later, he was appointed Principal Trumpet of the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra (Germany) where he remained until 1986 when he was appointed...
Read more

Audio samples

About Eastwind

To compose “Eastwind”, Jean-François Michel took his inspiration from the rich musical folklore of the gypsies who have developed many different styles all over the Balkan and the East-European countries where they have settled. These folk tunes navigate freely between major and minor modes, between wild dances and sorrowful cantinelas, irresistibly bewitching the sad or happy souls of the listener.

“Eastwind” was first performed July 2, 2012 for the opening of the 61st Festival of Ljubljana, in Slovenia, by the Brass Ensemble (4 trumpets and 4 trombones) of the Slokar Academy and the soloists, Franc Kosem, trumpet, and Branimir Slokar, trombone.

Product details

solo trumpet or cornet (parts in Bb or C), solo trombone (bass or treble clef) or solo euphonium (bass or treble clef). Band: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 3 Bb clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 3 trumpets, 4 horns in F (or Eb), 2 ternor trombones (bass + treble clef), bass trombone, tuba (+ Eb or Bb bass), string contrabass, 3 percussions
Editions Bim


  • World Premiere

    February 4, 2023 | Brassurround 2023 | Torrent, Spain. Luis González (trumpet), Carlos Gil (trombone), Banda de Musica del circolo catolico de Torrent, Francisco Zacarés (conducting).

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.