Arutiunian Alexander Trombone Concerto Tb11
Alexander Arutiunian
for trombone and orchestra or piano reduction
advanced Duration: 20' Armenian Composers Series

Printed version

TB11a Piano reduction (solo part included)

CHF 27.00

Printed version

TB11b Orchestra score

CHF 65.00

Printed version

TB11c Orchestra parts

on rental
In stock
Alexander Arutiunian

Alexander Arutiunian (1920-2012)

Born in 1920 in Erevan, Armenia, he is one of the best known and highly esteemed composers of Armenia. He studied composition and piano at the Komitas Conservatory in the city of his birth, and then perfected his composition skills with H. Litinsky in Moscow (1946-1948). He directed the composition class at the Erevan State Conservatory. His works have won many prizes, both nationally and...
Read more

Audio samples

About Concerto

A masterpiece of the contemporary trombone repertoire.

The three movements of this concerto, written 1990-91 in Erevan (Armenia) during a dramatic and difficult period (catastrophic earthquake and turbulent political situation) bring out not only the emotions of the great Armenian composer, but also reveal his profound expressive resources which the solo trombone is able to give voice to in an especially moving manner, superbly supported by a richly developed orchestral architecture.

Product details

Instrumentation - - harp, percussion - strings
Editions Bim
I. Adagio maestoso e andante
II. Allegretto
III. Allegro


  • November 1, 2023 | St Petersburg, Russia. Alexey Lobikov (trombone), St Petersburg State Capella Symphony, Nikolai Tsinman (conducting).

  • March 14, 2020 | Tampere, Finland. Ulla Aonen (trombone), Tampere Academic Symphony, Kimmo Tullila (conducting).

  • February 28, 2019 | Mexico City, Mexico. Julio Briseño (tuba), Orquesta Filarmonica de la Ciudad de Mexico, Enrique Barrios (conducting).

  • February 20, 2019 | Hiroshima, Japan. Yosuke Kato (trombone), Hiroshima Symphony Orchestra, Makoto Suehiro (conducting).

  • January 30, 2018 | Dortmund, Germany. Sascha Graefe (trombone), Orchestra of the University of Dortmund, Ingo Ernst Reihl (conductor).

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.