Turrin  Joseph 4  Miniatures  Tp211 Digital
Joseph Turrin
Four Miniatures
for trumpet and piano
intermediate Duration: 9'

Printed version


CHF 25.00

Digital version with

Newzik Logo

D-TP211 Digital

CHF 22.00

Print and download capabilities are not available. View, annotate and share with the Newzik app. Requires a Newzik account (free)

In stock
Joseph Turrin

Joseph Turrin (*1947)

Joseph Turrin’s multifaceted career encompasses an amazingly wide range of musical talents. As composer, he has been recognized with major commissions and performances from the New York Philharmonic, Gewandhausorchester in Leipzig, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, St. Martin-in-the-Fields Academy Orchestra, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Baltimore Symphony, New Jersey Symphony, New Orleans...
Read more

Audio samples

About Four Miniatures

A collection of short movements all very distinct yet tied together in various ways.

The first movement Fanfare mixes the elements of a trumpet fanfare with a more lyrical quality. Haunting echo’s and short repeated musical phrases are interspersed throughout. Intermezzo is a waltz with running eighth notes in the piano over which the trumpet sings a long sensual melody. Canto is rather free in form with much dialogue between both instruments. There’s a lofty transparent quality in this movement that reminds me of the Chopin Nocturnes for piano. Tarantella is a quick six-eight romp that passes ideas between the two players and brings the suite to a joyful conclusion.

Product details

trumpet (flugelhorn) and piano
Editions Bim
I. Fanfare
II. Intermezzo
III. Canto
IV. Tarantella

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.