, view bag


20% discount on all orders until August 31, 2024

Schlaepfer  Jean  Claude  Ascensus  Tp62

Jean-Claude Schlaepfer

for trumpet and low strings

  • Level: advanced
  • Duration: 10'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 1995

Reference: TP62a
Piano reduction (solo part included)


  • Instrumentation:

    strings: 5 violas, 4 cellos and 3 contrabasses

  • Publisher: Editions Bim

Audio samples



Jean-Claude Schlaepfer

Jean-Claude Schlaepfer (*1961)

Born in Geneva (Switzerland) in 1961, Jean-Claude Schlaepfer studied piano for many years, notably with M. Risler. At the Geneva Conservatory he studied a program of theory courses and achieved a d... Read more

About Ascensus

The Work

Although it was conceived as a single movement (molto largo e misterioso), three divisions are apparent: the quasi-declamatory introduction for trumpet alone (with a "plunger" mute for a 'rougher' sound), followed by the main body of the work where the trumpet (open) starts low and works its way progressively into the high range, within the subtle texture of quivering low strings, to attain a flamboyant and lyrical climax. In the last section the strings (violas and cellos) disappear into the extreme high register, while the trumpet (using a Harmon mute without the tube) finds serenity in the middle register and concludes in the low register, murmuring the inexpressible.