, view bag


20% discount on all orders until August 31, 2024

Vartan Adjemian, Blues for 2 tubas, string quartet and piano

Vartan Adjemian

for 2 tubas, string quartet and piano

  • Level: intermediate
  • Duration: 7'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2010

Reference: TU159
Score and parts


  • Publisher: Editions Bim


Vartan Adjemian

Vartan Adjemian (*1956)

Vartan Adjemian was born 1956 to a very well-known and popular family in Armenia. His grandfather, Vartan Adjemian Sr. (1905-1977) studied with Stanislavsky and Vsevolod Meyerhold and was the Gene... Read more

About Blues

About "Blues"

This piece was composed at the request of Harri Lidsle. The proposed instrumentation of two tubas with a string quartet and pianoforte was a source of consternation to me, since a single tuba can easily balance, in terms of dynamics, a full symphony orchestra playing in tutti. Following an elongated period of reflection, I decided to resolve this "balance" issue by adding yet another challenge: I called the piece "Blues" and created two independent melodies (one for each tuba) that follow each other closely, thereby creating, in a virtual sense, a single melodic line.

Vartan Adjemian, September 2010, Yerevan, Armenia