Balissat Jean Promenade Avec Jean Jacques Rousseau Orch64
Jean Balissat
Promenade avec J.J. Rousseau
for string orchestra
Duration: 13' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

ORCH64b Orchestra score


Printed version

ORCH64c Orchestra parts


In stock
Jean Balissat

Jean Balissat (1936-2007)

Jean Balissat was born in 1936 in Lausanne (Switzerland), and was drawn straight away to composing and conducting. He studied harmony and counterpoint in Lausanne, before taking composition, orchestration and conducting in Geneva. In order to gain a better understanding of the orchestra, he also studied horn and percussion. As orchestral director and bandmaster, he has conducted numerous...
Read more

Audio samples

About Promenade avec J.J. Rousseau

Plays with excerpts of the Devin du Village

Promenade avec Jean-Jacques Rousseau plays with excerpts of the Devin du Village (1752), instrumented, arranged and composed for strings. Played for the king, in Fontainebleau in 1752,  Le Devin du Village [The Diviner of the Village] gained a considerable success and maintained for more than a half-a-century Jean-Jacques Rousseau’s reputation as a composer. It is a pleasant lyrical pastorale which charm essentially relates to the melodic invention. Inspired in the same manner Stravinsky treated Pergolese’s music in his Pulcinella, I conceived the Promenade using eight fragments of the Devin du Village, always quoted in their original key.

Product details

Editions Bim
1. Ouverture
2. Lento
4. Passacaille
5. Allons danser sous les ormeaux
3. Menuet