Editions Bim logo

International Music Publishing

You have no items in your cart

Adams Byron Viola Sonata
Byron Adams
for viola and piano
advanced Duration: 20'


CHF 27.00

In stock
Byron Adams

Byron Adams (*1955)

Byron Adams (b. 1955, Atlanta, Georgia, USA) is a composer, musicologist, and conductor. He was educated at Jacksonville University, the University of Southern California, and Cornell University, where he earned a doctoral degree studying composition with Karel Husa. Adams is a composer of tonal music with an inimitable style who employs individual adaptations of traditional techniques. His...
Read more

Audio samples

III. Adagio
II. Allegretto grazioso
I. Allegro
IV. Allegro risoluto

About Sonata

About the Sonata

I cast my Viola Sonata in four movements, deriving the thematic material of the entire sonata from the opening measures. The turbulent first movement is a variant of sonata form in which a new theme, a sinister trumpet-call that first appears in the piano, heralds the beginning of the development section. The second movement is a lilting siciliana. The third movement is a somber funeral procession above which the viola sings a lament. In the finale, a sonata rondo in which themes from previous movements are varied upon return, the music hurtles forward inexorably towards a brusque, dismissive final.

Byron Adams, autumn, 2015, Los Angeles, USA

Product details

Editions Bim
I. Allegro appassionato (6')
II. Allegretto grazioso (4')
III. Adagio molto (6'30)
IV. Allegro risoluto (5'30)

Product downloads

© 2021 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All right reserved.