, view bag
Weiser  Mark  Lanz  Flash  Sax17

Mark Lanz Weiser

for soprano saxophone and piano

  • Level: advanced
  • Duration: 15'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2014

Reference: SAX17


  • Published: 2015
  • Publisher: Editions Bim
  • Movements:
    • 1. Blink (2')
    • 2. Sparkle (3')
    • 3. Blaze (4')
    • 4. Shimmer (6')


Mark Lanz Weiser

Mark Lanz Weiser (*1968)

Originally from eastern Pennsylvania, USA, Mark Lanz Weiser, born in 1968, holds degrees in composition and piano performance from the Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University. Weiser d... Read more

About Flash

Each of the four movements of Flash represents a different musical impression of the word flash, and the titles of each movement (Blink, Sparkle, Blaze, Shimmer) are themselves synonyms. The music exploits the entire range of the soprano saxophone and in the first three movements uses a dense musical vocabulary that is at different times jocular, taunting, whimsical, and aggressive. The last movement (Shimmer) acts as a contrast to the preceding three in a quiet setting of a lyric saxophone melody supported by high, staggered chords in the piano.


April 30, 2017 | Hear Now 2017 | Los Angeles, USA. .