, view bag
Forbes Michael Alpine Concerto Tu209B

Michael Forbes
Alpine Concerto

for tuba and string orchestra

  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 19'15
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2019

Reference: TU209a
Piano reduction (solo part included)


  • Instrumentation:

    solo tuba, strings and timpani

  • Published: 2019
  • Publisher: Editions Bim
  • Movements:
    • 1. Ascent (9'40)
    • 2. Vista (4'15)
    • 3. Descent (5'20)

Audio samples

1. Ascent
2. Vista
3. Descent


Michael Forbes

Michael Forbes (*1973)

Michael Forbes (born 1973 in Morgantown, West Virginia, USA), studied first with Mark Lusk and Marty Erickson (Bachelor’s Degree at Penn State University), then with tubist and composer, John Steve... Read more

About Alpine Concerto

Set piece for the final at the 1st Geneva International Tuba Competition 2020. To the competition website


September 5, 2024 | Akiyoshidai Music Competition Tuba | Akiyoshidai, Japan. Candidates if the competition.

January 12, 2020 | 1st Geneva International Tuba Competition (January 7th to 12th) | Geneva, Switzerland. Orchestre de Chambre de Genève, Bastien Stil (Conductor).