Byron Adams, Illuminations for piano
Byron Adams
for piano
advanced Duration: 16'

Printed version



In stock
Byron Adams

Byron Adams (*1955)

Byron Adams (b. 1955, Atlanta, Georgia, USA) is a composer, musicologist, and conductor. He was educated at Jacksonville University, the University of Southern California, and Cornell University, where he earned a doctoral degree studying composition with Karel Husa. Adams is a composer of tonal music with an inimitable style who employs individual adaptations of traditional techniques. His...
Read more

About Illuminations

Inspired by the poetry of Arthur Rimbaud

Each of the five movements of my suite was inspired by a phrase drawn from the poetry of Arthur Rimbaud (1854-1891). The opening movement (“…vieilles fanfares d’héroïsme”) is a brief introductory fanfare. The second movement (“…la tristesse amoureuse de la nuit”) is drenched in voluptuous melancholy, while the third (“…la mer mêlée au soleil”) evokes sunlight dancing upon the sea. The fourth movement  (“Petite veille d’ivresse…”) is a sensuous vision of ecstatic darkness. The last movement (“…de mélodies nocturnes”) is a nocturnal meditation that ends in extraordinary calm. My Illuminations for piano is dedicated to the distinguished pianist Armen Guzelimian.

Byron Adams, July 2012, Santa Monica, CA, USA

World premiere: Beverly Hills, California, USA, on 17 October 2010 at a Musical Offering Chamber Music recital by pianist Gary Burnett.

Product details

Editions Bim
“…vieilles fanfares d’héroïsme” (2’05)
“... la tristesse amoureuse de la nuit” (2’10)
“... la mer mêlée au soleil” (2'10)
“Petite veille d’ivresse...” (5')
“... de mélodies nocturnes” (4')