Schlaepfer  Jean  Claude  Lamentations  Jeremie  Orch39
Jean-Claude Schlaepfer
Lamentations de Jérémie
for string orchestra
Duration: 7' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

ORCH39b Orchestra score

CHF 38.00

Printed version

ORCH39c Orchestra parts

on rental
In stock
Jean-Claude Schlaepfer

Jean-Claude Schlaepfer (*1961)

Born in Geneva (Switzerland) in 1961, Jean-Claude Schlaepfer studied piano for many years, notably with M. Risler. At the Geneva Conservatory he studied a program of theory courses and achieved a diploma in Musical Culture, the Prize of the Geneva State Council and the composition prize (in the class of Pierre Wissmer and Jean Balissat). Afterwards he did further study with Betsy Jolas, composer...
Read more

About Lamentations de Jérémie

The Work

"I, Jeremy, am sad at heart. There are no remedies to heal my sorrow..." This is the passage from "Jeremy's Lamentations" which has, in all humility, inspired me, the composer states, and his sound portrait is indeed strongly inspired by that poignant sentence, showing the deep disarray and mental anguish of those who suffer from despair.

The multifarious string voices emerge almost imperceptibly from silence in the form of amorphous rustling sounds that slowly are amplified and developed as these sonic murmurs merge in an intensely dramatic manner leading to brutal fortissimi followed by explosive silences or, in some instances, by decrescendi symbolically reflective of submission, before resuming the lamentations that persist until the final breath.

This seven minute work composed in 2000 was written with the same intensity and sense of dramatic soberness that characterises all of Jean-Clauden Schlaepfer’s works.

The "Lamentations of Jeremy", orchestrated for 14 strings (8 violins, 3 altos, 2 violoncellos and one contrabbass) is a precious and delicate masterwork, with a modernity of writing that reflects the tumultuous times in which we live.

Product details

Editions Bim

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.