Zbinden  Jf  Symphonie No 4  Orch8
Julien-François Zbinden
Symphonie N° 4 op. 82
for string orchestra
Duration: 26' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

ORCH8d Study score

CHF 27.00

Printed version

ORCH8b Orchestra score

CHF 85.00

Printed version

ORCH8c Orchestra parts

on rental
In stock
Julien-François Zbinden

Julien-François Zbinden (1917-2021)

Julien-François Zbinden was born on November 11th, 1917 in Rolle (Vaud/Switzerland). After having studied piano, with secondary studies in voice and violin, he began in 1938 his musical career as a pianist in a jazz band, having had a passion for jazz at an early age. As a composer, he was self-taught at the beginning, so to speak. After 1947 he worked at the musical department of Radio Suisse...
Read more

Audio samples

About Symphonie N° 4

The 4th Symphony is divided into four movements.

I. Lento misterioso, Allegro
The first half of the work opens with an ostinato in the celli, in which an anxious, continually syncopated six-note motif develops toward a paroxysm of violence. The atmosphere then relaxes until a suspended chord expresses tenderness. The second half of the work is an interplay between the forces of a featured interval of a fourth and the energetic punctuation of bitonal chords, followed by a more expressive motif in the form of an ascending scale.

II. Lento
The music dramatically portrays moments of despair, calmness, sadness and resignation.

III. Moderato molto
Played entirely with mutes, this movement goes back and forth between crying and laughing, the evocation of distant memories of lost happiness.

IV. Prestissimo
Interrupted by an Andante recitativo e passionato, this movement shines with brilliance and élan.

Product details

Editions Bim

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.