Lane Richard Triptych Va11
Richard Lane
for 6 violas
intermediate Duration: 5'30

Printed version

VA11 Score and parts

CHF 29.00

In stock
Richard Lane

Richard Lane (1933-2004)

On September 3, 2004, a police patrol intercepted a convertible Ford Mustang that was zigzagging out of control. Richard Lane had just left Cape Cod, where he spent his summers composing, and suffered a stroke while driving back to his home in Paterson, New Jersey. He was urgently taken to Newark University Hospital, but nine days later, he passed away, leaving behind a rich legacy of over 500...
Read more

About Triptych

The viola featured prominently in the compositional output of Richard Lane. This Triptych, a suite in three movements for six violas, is one of the eleven pieces dedicated to Myron Rosenblum.

Lane wrote this charming work in the last years of his life. The second movement, Canzona, was written first, in 2002, while the outer movements, Intrada and Finale were composed in 2003, with revisions in 2004, the year he died.

Product details

Editions Bim
I. Intrada (2')
II. Canzona (2'20)
III. Finale (1'30)

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.