Zbinden  Jf  Concerto  Clarinet  Cl7
Julien-François Zbinden
Concerto op. 87
for clarinet and orchestra
advanced Duration: 20' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

CL7a Piano reduction (solo part included)


Printed version

CL7d Study score


Printed version

CL7b Orchestra score


Printed version

CL7c Orchestra parts

on rental
In stock
Julien-François Zbinden

Julien-François Zbinden (1917-2021)

Julien-François Zbinden was born on November 11th, 1917 in Rolle (Vaud/Switzerland). After having studied piano, with secondary studies in voice and violin, he began in 1938 his musical career as a pianist in a jazz band, having had a passion for jazz at an early age. As a composer, he was self-taught at the beginning, so to speak. After 1947 he worked at the musical department of Radio Suisse...
Read more

About Concerto

The Clarinet Concerto consists of three movements, each a tribute to someone:

1) "Hommage à I'Interprete" [Homage to the performer"] is based on a theme using ascending and descending scales in part one (Allegro moderato). Part two is a livelier Allegro scherzando. This first movement is the only one which contains two really traditional cadenzas for the performer's enjoyment (hence the title of this Homage).

2) "Hommage à Ella Fitzgerald" [Homage to Ella Fitzgerald] was written in the spirit of the blues. It begins and ends with the notes E and F, the initials of "Lady Swing", the extraordinary singer. She passed away in April of 1996 during the writing of this concerto.

3) "Hommageà Benny Goodman" [Homage to Benny Goodman] also uses (episodically) the initials of the famed jazz clarinetist: Bb and G. This fast movement is mainly rhythmical, and as befits such a homage.

Product details

Instrumentation – - 4 timpani (1), percussion (1) - piano - strings (min.
Editions Bim
I. Hommage à l’Interprète
II. Hommage à Ella Fitzgerald
III. Hommage à Benny Goodman