Lane Richard Sonata Oboe Ob7

Richard Lane


for oboe and piano

Level: intermediate
Duration: 7'40

I. Allegro non troppo I. Allegro non troppo

II. Andante II. Andante

III. Allegro vivace III. Allegro vivace


In stock
Ships from & sold by Editions Bim & The Brass Press

Richard Lane possesses the art of combining the instrumental voice (s) with that of the piano (whatever the degree of difficulty), admirably stimulating the expressive complicity between protagonists. The piano part of this 1981 oboe sonata is a perfect example.

The first movement Allegro non troppo plays on mischievous themes taken up and developed with a delicate energy by the oboe.

The second movement is a beautiful singing Andante, very expressive and emotional with the caracteristic sound of the oboe. The sentences take flight on a rich harmonic carpet of the piano.

The final Allegro vivace is a cheerful, dancing, lively and light 6/8.

Without being excessively difficult, this relatively short sonata (about 7-8 minutes) can be part of a concert program or educational auditions.

Other Works by Richard Lane for oboe (Editions Bim):

Concerto for oboe and orchestra (1984)

Double Concerto for oboe, bassoon and string orchestra (1985)

Introduction & Allegro Englischhorn & piano (1983)

Quintet for oboe and strings or piano reduction (1983)

Suite for oboe, horn and string orchestra (1991)

Suite for oboe, viola d’amore and piano (1999

I. Allegro non troppo (2'40)
II. Andante (3')
III. Allegro vivace (2')
Editions Bim
Richard Lane

Richard Lane (1933-2004)

Richard Lane,composer and pianist, was born in 1933 in Paterson, New Jersey, USA. He graduated from the Eastman School of Music where he studied piano with Jose Echaniz and Armand Basile and composition with Louis Mennini (1920-2000), Wayne Barlow (1912-1995) and Bernard Rogers (1893-1968). Mr. Lane's compositions include chamber works, choral... Read more

We also recommend