Perrin Jean Sonate Co28
Jean Perrin
Sonate op. 7
for horn and piano
intermediate Duration: 17' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version


CHF 29.00

In stock
Jean Perrin

Jean Perrin (1920-1989)

Swiss composer Jean Perrin was born in Lausanne, Switzerland, where he received his B.A. at the University, and his diploma in piano at the Conservatory. He studied composition in Paris with Darius Milhaud and Nadia Boulanger. As a teacher at the Conservatoires of Lausanne and Sion, Jean Perrin has introduced generations of pianists to the grandeur, the nobility and the spirituality of the...
Read more

About Sonate

The Work

From 1953 to 1956, Jean Perrin composed 5 major sonatas, successively for horn, violin, cello, and flute, all with piano accompaniment, as well as a sonata for piano.

Jean Perrin's music is often extended by bi-modality, and the three movements of the sonata center around the warm tonality of E flat or its dominant B flat (in the second movement), a wonderful key that well suits the horn.

Product details

Editions Bim
I. Adagio ma non Troppo (5')
II. Allegro (5')
III. Andante ben moderato ma con moto (7')

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.