Editions Bim logo

International Music Publishing

You have no items in your cart

Turrin Joseph Sonatina Tb102
Joseph Turrin
for trombone and organ
intermediate / advanced Duration: 12'30


CHF 27.00

In stock
Joseph Turrin

Joseph Turrin (*1947)

Joseph Turrin’s multifaceted career encompasses an amazingly wide range of musical talents. As composer, he has been recognized with major commissions and performances from the New York Philharmonic, Gewandhausorchester in Leipzig, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, St. Martin-in-the-Fields Academy Orchestra, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Baltimore Symphony, New Jersey Symphony, New...
Read more

Audio samples

1. Fanfare
2. Cabaletta
3. Gigue

About Sonatina

Although the structural form of each of the three movements is not at all complex, the technical aspects regarding the trombone are explored in detail.

The first movement explores the majestic quality of the instrument as conveyed by the idea of the fanfare.

The second movement consists of a singing cantus firmus, very much imitating the quality of the Gregorian chant. The organ adds a subtle ostinato to the movement.

The last and final movement is energetic and rondo like in quality exploring melodic sections in contrast to precise elements of technique and articulation.

Product details

Editions Bim
I. Fanfare (2')
II. Cabaletta (4')
III. Gigue (6'30)

Product downloads

© 2021 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All right reserved.