Lukas Zdenek Trumpet Concerto Tp227
Zdenek Lukas
Trumpet Concerto
for trumpet and orchestra
advanced Duration: 15'

Printed version

TP227a Piano reduction (solo part included)

CHF 25.00

Printed version

TP227b Orchestra score

CHF 37.00

Printed version

TP227c Orchestra parts

on rental

Printed version

TP227d Study score

CHF 27.00

In stock
Zdenek Lukas

Zdenek Lukas (1928-2007)

Zdenek Lukas, born 1928 in Prague (Czech Republic) is one of the most prolific czech composer (over 330 opus). During the 1960s, after having been working as musical editor and program director at the National Broadcasting Company and as a conductor of one of the most famous choirs in the country (Cecka písen), he studied composition with Miloslav Kabelac (1908-1979) who initiated him into the...
Read more

Audio samples

About Trumpet Concerto

In this Concerto, Zdenek Lukas places deft mastery of orchestration at the service of a vivacious creative impulse. Double woodwinds plus piccolo (3-2-2-2), judiciously reduced brasses (4-0-0-0), and 5 tamburi (tom-toms), to which cymbals, tam-tam, claves, and triangle are sparingly added, augment a full string section that provides the backbone of the accompaniment. Together they weave an aural tapestry of uncommon suppleness in both dynamics and orchestra-soloist balance, allowing the graciously virtuosic and often somewhat surprising dialogue of the solo trumpet to emerge effortlessly in relief. It's a multifaceted and satisfying piece that delivers a compelling musical message.

I never compose music for my own sake. My scores derive their fundamental inspiration from the musicians to whom they are dedicated ; and it's their artistry, above all else, that I seek to display.
Zdenek Lukas

Product details

Instrumentation - - percussion - strings
Editions Bim
I. Andante (5')
II. Allegro (5')
III. Lento, Allegro con moto (5')

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.