Charriere Caroline Le Temps ORCH65
Caroline Charrière
Le Temps
for string orchestra
Duration: 17'30 Swiss Composers Series

Printed version

ORCH65b Orchestra score

CHF 55.00

Printed version

ORCH65c Orchestra parts

CHF 115.00

In stock
Caroline Charrière

Caroline Charrière (1960-2018)

Born 1960 in Fribourg (Switzerland), Caroline Charrière has accomplished flute studies at the Lausanne Conservatory (with Pierre Wavre) and completed them with Aurèle Nicolet and at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester (GB). During the same time, she studied orchestration and composition with the Swiss composer Jean Balissat and conducting (Lausanne Conservatory, Hervé Klopfenstein)....
Read more

Audio samples

About Le Temps

About the movements of the suite «Le Temps» (The Time)

Kronos… First I thought about a more peaceful sounding work with a title like «The Delights of Time». Then the piece changed slowly. A fast, dissonant sequence slipped into the middle of the movement and the beginning became dull, menacing together with the new title: Kronos, assimilated to god Cronos (or Saturn) but becoming the god of Time who devours his children.

L’attente (The Expectation) illustrating the second movement also appeared after the composition was finished, expressing at first quiet, even good-heartedness moods before impatience, irritation and hope begin to interfere. Alas, nothing happens, and no one arrives.

The third movement, L’urgence (The Emergency), rushes through the piece, with febrility and extreme agitation.

La nuit (The Night), the fourth movement, is expressing a feeling of infinity. Calm, soothing, suspended music.

Product details

Editions Bim
I. Kronos (5’15)
II. L’attente (3’30)
III. L’urgence (3’50)
IV. La nuit (5)


  • September 10, 2023 | Wettingen, Switzerland. Kammerorchester K65, Alexandre Clerc (conducting).

  • September 9, 2023 | Aarau, Switzerland. Kammerorchester K65, Alexandre Clerc (conducting).

  • August 18, 2022 | Festival Davos 2022 | Davos, Switzerland. Davos Festival Camerata, Holly Hyun Choe (conducting).

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.