, view bag
Plog Anthony Aesop Fables Ii Oper4

Anthony Plog
Aesop Fables II

Chamber opera

for 2 soli and string quartet

  • Text/Lyrics: Anthony Plog
  • Level: intermediate
  • Languages: English
  • Duration: 25'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2013

Reference: OPER4a
Piano reduction (solo part included)


  • Instrumentation:

    solo treble and bass voices, and piano

  • Published: 2017
  • Publisher: Editions Bim
  • Movements:
    • I. The Mule (3'30)
    • II. The Hare and The Tortoise (5'30)
    • III. The Fox and The (Billy) Goat (6'30)
    • IV. The Wind And The Sun (5'30)
    • V. The Mouse And The Lion (5'30)


Anthony Plog

Anthony Plog (*1947)

Anthony Plog was born on November 13th, 1947 in Glendale, California. He received his music degree from UCLA (University of California Los Angeles). Trumpet studies were first with his father Clift... Read more

About Aesop Fables II

Before Aristotle (384-322 B.C.)  and Plato (c.428-c.348 B.C.), before Buddha (VI or V c. B.C.) and Confucius (551-479 B.C.), in an age when the calendar had ten months, the year had 354 days, and people told time with a sun dial, Aesop (end of VII, beginning VI c. B.C.) told his fables. He was born into slavery in the ancient country of Phrygia (now Turkey) and earned freedom by exposing the foibles and failings of human character through the telling of “beast tales”. In the year 560 B.C., when Aesop was 60 years old, the telling also earned him his death while on a mission to the Oracle at Delphi. The Delphians, deeply offended by the critical sarcasm directed at them in one of his fables, hurled him to his death from a cliff outside the city.

Inspired by five of these fables, Anthony Plog has written a text based on these fables that he has then set to music.

This work can be performed on stage with acting singers or in concert.