Stevens  John  Adagio  Orch73
John Stevens
for string orchestra
Duration: 8'30

Printed version

ORCH73b Orchestra score

CHF 27.00

Printed version

ORCH73c Orchestra parts

CHF 55.00

In stock
John Stevens

John Stevens (*1951)

John Stevens was born in Buffalo, New York (USA) in 1951. He holds degrees in Music Performance (tuba) from the Eastman School of Music (1973) and Yale University (1975). For many years John Stevens was a free-lance performer in New York City. From 1981 to 1985 he was on the faculty of the University of Miami (FL) School of Music. From 1985 to 2014 he was on the faculty of the University of...
Read more

Audio samples

About Adagio

Inspired by the many beautiful "adagios"

This Adagio was originally composed in 1991 and revised in 2009. It was written in memory of Rayburn Wright, a former teacher of mine at the Eastman School of Music, shortly after he passed away. The music is meant to convey both the sense of loss at his passing and an uplifting remembrance of his life and our friendship. It is inspired by the many beautiful "adagios" in the orchestral repertoire. John Stevens, February 2010, Madison, WI, USA

Product details

Editions Bim

© 2023 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.