Schlaepfer  Jean  Claude 3  Caprices  Vn17
Jean-Claude Schlaepfer
3 Caprices
à la mémoire de Paganini
for violin solo
advanced Duration: 6' Swiss Composers Series

Printed version



In stock
Jean-Claude Schlaepfer

Jean-Claude Schlaepfer (*1961)

Born in Geneva (Switzerland) in 1961, Jean-Claude Schlaepfer studied piano for many years, notably with M. Risler. At the Geneva Conservatory he studied a program of theory courses and achieved a diploma in Musical Culture, the Prize of the Geneva State Council and the composition prize (in the class of Pierre Wissmer and Jean Balissat). Afterwards he did further study with Betsy Jolas, composer...
Read more

About 3 Caprices

An exercise in style

These three brief movements (ca 2 min. each) for violin alone are an exercise in style and an initiation into the world of violonistic writing on a same slow tempo, near of the common heartbeat. The two first movements are sostenuto and tense Adagios designed to exploit the lyrical and multiphonic ressources of the violin, while the last movement, a majestic grazioso, introduces the leggiero and graceful elements of a dance.

Product details

Editions Bim