, view bag


20% discount on all orders until August 31, 2024

Szentpali Roland Illustrations Co101

Roland Szentpali

on poems by Attila József

for horn in F and piano

  • Level: advanced
  • Duration: 7'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2017

Reference: CO101


  • Published: 2017
  • Publisher: Editions Bim
  • Movements:
    • 1. Munkashalal [A Worker's Death] (2')
    • 2. Kis Asszonyom [My Little Lady] (2'30)
    • 3. Perc [A Minute] (2'30)

Audio samples

I. A Worker's Death
II. My Little Lady
III. A Minute


Roland Szentpali

Roland Szentpali (*1977)

Roland Szentpali was born in 1977 in Nyíregyháza, Hungary. He began his musical studies in his hometown; in 1991 he was admitted to the Béla Bartók Conservatory in Budapest, as the tuba student of ... Read more

About Illustrations

The individual movements drew their inspiration from the poems of the Hungarian writer, Attila Jozsef (1905-1937), whose destiny was tragic. The horn and piano are treated as equal partners, and together they exude an extraordinary dramatic and emotional intensity through Szentpali's subtle and captivating use of style and language.

In the first two movements,1. Munkashalal (A Worker’s Death), and 2. Kis Asszonyom (My Little Lady), the piano offers densely textured harmonic and melodic sequences over which the ample voice of the horn soars.

In the last movement, Perc (A Minute), the Hungarian soul emerges with an extremely dynamic virtuosity.