Stevens  John  Fabrics  Ens45

John Stevens


for brass quintet

Level: advanced
Duration: 18'

I. Morning Star I. Morning Star

II. Sunshine And Shadow II. Sunshine And Shadow

III. Delectable Mountains III. Delectable Mountains

IV. Flying Geese IV. Flying Geese

ENS45 - Score and parts

In stock
Ships from & sold by Editions Bim & The Brass Press

Colors and weaves of sound

"Frabrics" was inspired by the many beautiful handmade quilts made over the years by Mr. Stevens' mother. The title refers to the many colors and weaves of sound of which the brass quintet is capable. Once again, the setting of a mood is of primary importance in these movements, rather than any particular technical compositional devices. Each movement is titled after a traditional American quilt pattern.

The first, "Morning Star", reflects the quiet, but shimmering dawn of day. "Sunshine and Shadow", is, as one might expect, a study in contrast. This is accomplished largely through instrumentation and orchestration - piccolo trumpets are used and the three lower brass are often in their extreme lower registers. Flugelhorns are used in the third movement, "Delectable Mountains", aidong to create a dark, rich, majestic sound. "Flying Geese", the title of the last movement, is a pattern that is seen on or around many early American quilts. The suggestion of strength and speed is portrayed in this rapid, brassy finale.

2 trumpet, horn, trombone, tuba
Morning Star
Sunshine and Shadow
Delectable Mountains
Flying Geese
Editions Bim
John Stevens

John Stevens (*1951)

John Stevens was born in Buffalo, New York (USA) in 1951. He holds degrees in Music Performance (tuba) from the Eastman School of Music (1973) and Yale University (1975). For many years John Stevens was a free-lance performer in New York City. From 1981 to 1985 he was on the faculty of the University of Miami (FL) School of Music. From 1985 to 2014... Read more