Editions Bim logo

International Music Publishing

You have no items in your cart

Winkelmann Helena Ciaccona Vn38
Helena Winkelman
for violin solo
advanced Duration: 6' Swiss Composers Series


CHF 19.00

In stock
Helena Winkelman

Helena Winkelman (*1974)

Helena Winkelman (b. 1974) is a Swiss composer and violinist. She showed an exceptional musical talent very early. Having won national and international violin competitions at a young age, she has become a composer with an own distinct voice. Her interest in jazz and renaissance music had her start composing in a postmodernist way, using different styles of music and switching procedures to...
Read more

Audio samples


About Ciaccona

Written in Iceland, Ciaccona draws inspiration from Iceland’s fiery, ice-filled landscapes – evident particularly in its episode displaying flageolets – as well as from Iceland’s legendary hidden inhabitants, the Huldufólk (elves).

As befits a chaconne, Ciaccona is built upon a ground bass. After being distinctly present initially, however, the ground bass of Ciaccona passes into imperceptibility. It returns to offer a glimpse of itself, well disguised, in the extroverted, drivingly motoric central section, but becomes unambiguously present again only during the final two minutes of the work, which closes with a gentle, extended drift and a quiet echo of the motoric central section.

Ciaccona was commissioned in 2002 by the Baroque music violinist and pedagogue, Chiara Banchini.

The piece was written for Baroque violin, but it can also be performed on a conventional modern-day violin.

Product details

Editions Bim

Product downloads

© 2021 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.