Plog Anthony Aesop Fables I Horn Digital
Anthony Plog
Aesop Fables I
for narrator, horn in F and piano
intermediate English Duration: 13'

Printed version

CO97 Score and parts


Digital version with

Newzik Logo

D-CO97 Score and parts Digital


Print and download capabilities are not available. View, annotate and share with the Newzik app. Requires a Newzik account (free)

In stock
Anthony Plog

Anthony Plog (*1947)

Anthony Plog was born on November 13th, 1947 in Glendale, California. He received his music degree from UCLA (University of California Los Angeles). Trumpet studies were first with his father Clifton Plog and later with Irving Bush, Thomas Stevens and James Stamp. He has a successful international career as a soloist and has made many recordings. His compositional activities have grown...
Read more

About Aesop Fables I

Failings of human character through the telling of “beast tales”

Before Aristotle (384-322 B.C.)  and Plato (c.428-c.348 B.C.), before Buddha (VI or V c. B.C.) and Confucius (551-479 B.C.), in an age when the calendar had ten months, the year had 354 days, and people told time with a sun dial, Aesop (end of VII, beginning VI c. B.C.) told his fables. He was born into slavery in the ancient country of Phrygia (now Turkey) and earned freedom by exposing the foibles and failings of human character through the telling of “beast tales”. In the year 560 B.C., when Aesop was 60 years old, the telling also earned him his death while on a mission to the Oracle at Delphi. The Delphians, deeply offended by the critical sarcasm directed at them in one of his fables, hurled him to his death from a cliff outside the city.

Inspired by five of these fables, Anthony Plog has written a text based on these fables that he has then set to music.

Product details

Editions Bim
1. The Tortoise and the Hare (2'50)
2. The Mouse and the Lion (2'50)
3. The Wind and the Sun (2'40)
4. The Dove and the Ant (2'20)
5. The Mule (2'20)